Joined Microsoft as a Developer Advocate ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽŠ ๐Ÿป

Abhishek Gupta
2 min readAug 26, 2019

--

Hello, folks! Delighted to announce that I recently joined the Cloud Developer Advocacy team at Microsoft ๐Ÿ˜ƒ ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

I was fortunate to have worked on developer platforms (PaaS and Serverless) during my stint as a Product Manager at Oracle with a focus on developer experience and advocacy โ€” so I decided to convert this into a full-time role and glad to have joined a company which lays a huge emphasis on developer outreach.

https://makeameme.org/meme/i-should-be-5b5bb0

I am humbled and a little intimidated at the same time, to have joined this amazing team at Microsoft. You will realize that this feeling of being โ€œa little intimidatedโ€ is not without reason, once you take a look at the list below! There are some rock stars in there, but you know what โ€” sometimes being the โ€œdumbest person in the roomโ€ can be good for you ๐Ÿ˜‰

What will I be doing and what have I been up to so far?

TL;DR: a whole bunch of things, with a focus on developers and technical communities.

This includes (but not limited to) producing content in the form of code, blogs, demos, tutorials; run workshops and hackathon; engaging with you in-person at events, conferences, meetups, and (hopefully) much more. Also, Iโ€™ll be on the lookout for your feedback/inputs/pain-points and funnel them back to respective teams at Microsoft, such as engineering, PM, etc. (yes, this time Iโ€™ll be on the other side ๐Ÿ˜‰). And, in case you were curious, some of the specific areas Iโ€™ll be focusing on include Azure, Kubernetes, Serverless, Go and Kafka โ€” yeah I know, all the ๐Ÿ”ฅ ๐Ÿ”ฅ stuff!

Itโ€™s been a couple of weeks since I joined and things seem to be moving at a rapid pace. I have been busy with onboarding (obviously!), getting to know Microsoft (yeah itโ€™s huge!), chatting with colleagues, teams and getting up to speed with things in general. In between all this, I already have a few talks lined up, got to be part of an interesting little project and kick-started a new blog series โ€” stay tuned!

Interested in joining the team?

Maybe youโ€™re already working in Developer Relations, new to Developer Advocacy or just curious about it โ€” doesnโ€™t matter, letโ€™s talk ๐Ÿ™Œ Please DM me on Twitter or ping me on LinkedIn

BTW, I would highly recommend checking out What is Developer Advocacy? by Ashley McNamara

โ€œthe โ˜๏ธ is a small placeโ€

Hope to see you at conferences, meetups or even GitHub!

Cheers! ๐Ÿ˜„

--

--

Abhishek Gupta

Principal Developer Advocate at AWS | I โค๏ธ Databases, Go, Kubernetes